Topic

stronger fabric comparisons

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear stronger fabric comparisons

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Jeremy Osburn

@earn_my_turns

Locale: New England

I have several projects at various levels of design that I am thinking about making in the near or distant future. All of them require a fabric that can take a lot of abrasion. I am relatively new to MYOG so I have limited experience with different fabrics. Right now I am trying to do some basic research on the pros and cons of these different fabrics. I would also like to know if any of these fabrics take any special considerations when sewing them, for example a stronger needle and thread…

XPAC(VX-21) $10.99 4.9-5.5 oz/sq.yd. rockywood.com
    200 psi waterproofness. water does not go through the fabric no matter what. For bushwacking and as the bottom of a pack it holds up well
    Black, Dark Grey, Bright Orange (black criss-crosses), Kiwi (black criss-crosses), Rhumba Red (black criss-crosses), Dark Blue

Extreme XPAC (VX-51) 10.3 oz/sq.yd.
    1000x500d cordura

Dyneema X $23.95 4.0 oz/sq.yd. thru-hiker.com
    conventional waterproofness (it will wet through under the aforementioned conditions), and absorbs a modest amount of water weight under the same. It is surprisingly abrasion resistant, and very cut resistant.
    Jet Black, Titanium Grey

140 D Cordura $11.50 4 oz/sq.yd.
    (Super K-Kote Ripstop)140 Denier with 1.5 oz coating. This heavy weave of ripstop with an extra heavy urethane coating makes the fabric extremely waterproof and durable.
    330 D Cordura $9.25 4 oz/sq.yd. Seattlefabrics.com (BLACK ONLY)
    500 D Cordura $10.99 8.25 oz/sq.yd. Seattlefabrics.com, rockywood.com
    1000 D Cordura $13.59 10.8 oz/sq.yd.