Topic

Hammock Insulation Idea

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Hammock Insulation Idea

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Matthew Campbell

@gringoperdido

I’ve got an idea for an hammock insulation – am about to make the prototype but since I’ve no experience sewing I’d like to hear your ideas how to improve the design.

There have been a few designs for underquilts on the web, but I think they are too heavy. They cover the entire underside of the hammock, and are removable.

My idea is to fix insulation directly to the hammock (decreases material and the need to attach an underquilt). I also plan to insulate only one corner of the hammock – since I sleep diagonally and it’s only my torso and hips that need the insulation.

I’ll only need an area about 36×20 inches covered. If it’s a hot night, I can just switch the sleeping axis and the insulation won’t be underneath me at all. Is this a crazy idea? Wait, it gets crazier-

I’m planning to use fur I’ve combed from my siberian husky for the insulation. It’s supposed to have an R value better than down, dries quickly, has no odor, is very light and compressible, and it’s free and very abundant in my house.

I’m using 1.1 DWR treated nylon for the bottom matieral, with sewn through construction, aiming for about 1 inch of loft. I’m going to attach it to a hammock made of ripstop silnylon.

Will this work? Any ideas to make it better? Thanks for any suggestions.

Benjamin Smith
    BPL Member

@bugbomb

Locale: South Texas

Matthew,

I think that from a design standpoint, you’ve got a great idea – an insulated hammock that only has insulation where needed. As far as the dog hair insulation, check out this discussion:

backpacking.NET thread on dog hair insulation