Topic

Best insulation for cozies

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Best insulation for cozies

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Charles Jennings
    Spectator

@vigilguy

Locale: Northern Utah

Need some help here-

I have a seamstress that is going to make some cozies for me, for freeze dried meals such as Mountain House, etc.

I would like to get some feedback from you all as to what would be the best (highest R-value) insulation for this application.

Reflectix? Closed cell foam?

I'd like your suggestions please.

Thanks.

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA

I use the heavy-duty foil bag that MH meals come in. I just repackage my meals in freezer bags (I make most of my own nowadays, FBC-style) and wash the MH bag well.

I've been using the same MH cozy for three yrs.

Lighter than anything else I've tried, and packs paper thin to take no room in my food bag.

Reflectix works great, as does CCF, but the CCF is bulkiest and least flexible.

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

I NIX'd the cozy, but if you must have one, yeah reflectix, closed cell foam or windshield sun reflector (thin reflectix-like).

Charles Jennings
    Spectator

@vigilguy

I should add that I am most interested in performance as I use packgoats and weight is not a concern.

drowning in spam

@leaftye

Locale: SoCal

Aerogel or down.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

The goats will eat anything that isn't solid metal.

–B.G.–

Charles Jennings
    Spectator

@vigilguy

I am not worried about my goats eating anything, as we keep them out of our kitchen area.

Aerogel? Can that be purchased as a raw material?

Now we're talkin'. I think Aerogel is just the insulation that I was looking for!

drowning in spam

@leaftye