Topic

Training For Snowshoe Travel

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Training For Snowshoe Travel

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Jonathan Riley
    BPL Member

@jedeye459

Locale: South East

So I got a pair of snowshoes for travel in the Olympics and I have no experience. I would really like to try them out, get my muscles use to the movement some etc… BUT I live in Georgia so there isn't any snow in the area. Do you think it would be safe to practice with them in soft grass? Any other thoughts?

Thanks!

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

It won't do much good for the soft grass.

Yes, you will learn that it is pretty easy to walk in snowshoes. You just walk with a wider stance so that they don't bump together much. The rest of it will have to wait until you get on snowy hills.

Cross country skiers tend to contour around and zigzag their way up a hill. Snowshoers tend to go straight up or straight down, but that depends a little on the style of the snowshoe.

–B.G.–

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec

Locale: Queen City, MT

Especially when snowshoeing in deep and/or variable snow, you certainly use muscles in unique ways. It'd be hard to directly replicate this without snow, maybe go to the beach and snowshoe around on sand dunes?

Generally, snowshoeing is harder and slower than hiking. Being in good shape before your trip will probably ensure you have the most fun and don't strain a hip flexor or the like. Hike lots of steep hills (up and down) and uneven terrain.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2