Topic

Sierras in may

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Blair Gentes

@blastreach

I am planning a PCT thru-hike for 2010. I want to finish before september; gotta get back to school. I have been planning on hiking 20-25 mile days, but in order to finish this early, I think i will have to enter the sierras in late may or early june. I live in the Canadian prairies where it can be rare to see a contour line. Needless to say I have no experience with snow in the mountains. I was just wondering if anybody had any suggestions on how to get ready for it.

What gear differences would I be looking at comparing late may to mid june?

Is it safe for someone with no experience to do this? Or do I just need to mentally prepare myself?

Paul McLaughlin
    BPL Member

@paul-1

No, I don't think it is safe for someone with no experience to d o this. In Late may, some of the passes would be mountaineering rather than walking, unless it turns out to be a VERY low snow year.

Paul McLaughlin
    BPL Member

@paul-1

To elaborate: pretty much all the passes between the southern Kennedy Meadows and Tahoe will have a lot of snow on them in late May. Some are not too bad with snow on them if the snow is soft: some are going to be tough no matter what condition the snow is in. To be able to make progress under those conditions you are going to need some experience using an ice axe and possibly crampons.
    Depending on the snowpack, mid-june can be much the same or much easier. One difference is that in mid-june you'd be going through with a bunch of other folks. In late May, you'll be on your own – you might not see a soul for a couple hundred miles.