Topic

Affordable packrafts are overdue

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Packrafting Affordable packrafts are overdue

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Antig

@antig

Locale: Pacific Northwest

The lack of an affordable packraft contributes to the inactivity of this forum.

I have just placed an order for a 2-person Sevylor boat that costs $40. The material seems to be tougher than the Trail Boat and I believe the boat itself weighs 6.2lbs. Seems like a better option than carrying two Trail Boats since I am always outing with the significant other anyway.

I will update when I get it and post a review of my initial impressions. For $40, I am not expecting much at all. I wouldn't dare to take this to anything larger than a small current.

I am a complete novice in packrafting introduced only by a curiosity which resulted from the release of that new Packrafting book. Hopefully this will help those pondering about packrafting but are put off by the hefty price tag it carries.

Here is the link by the way:

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

The alpacka site forum has a good bit of traffic.

W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

Seriously.
    You're looking at $1000 dollars just to get outfitted with a basic setup (including paddle, PFD, etc).

I can buy a fully rigged fishing/diving/touring kayak for that money…fish finders, bait tanks, rod holders, hatches, the works. I know it's comparing apples to oranges…but $1000 for a no-frills inflatable?
    If they could get the price below $400 I suspect they might make up for it in volume- I'd jump at that price.

Jack H.

@found

Locale: Sacramento, CA

And you can buy a bike for $60, but does it compare to a $6000 one?

W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

Hey, you can do a lot with a $60 bike that you can't do on a $6000 dollar one: