Topic

Professional Perspectives on Backcountry Photography

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Professional Perspectives on Backcountry Photography

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Ryan Jordan
    Admin

@ryan

Locale: Central Rockies
    Kyle Hetzer
    Spectator

@ghost93

Locale: Western MD

"As a self-taught photographer, Tom states very simply that he became a photographer because he is backpacker. “The motivation was to record what I saw…I always see something when I go out. I don’t write, and I can’t draw, so I picked up photography.”"

HA, this sounds a lot like me. I picked up a DSLR about two years ago and taught myself. Good to see that others did too and made some remarkable shots in the process. Gives hope to guys like me. Photogrpahy was a mojior reason I went light. It's one of the things I have a hard time giving up. Thanks for the article.

George Matthews
    BPL Member

@gmatthews

Inspiring article. I try the brute force method. Take as many pictures as you can with hope that you''ll luck out and get a good one or two. The hour before sunrise and hour after sunset are magical. Love the picture of the elk drinking from the thermal pool. Made it my computer background.

Good photography helps preserve the wilderness by documenting the beauty for those who don't go out there. Knowing of the beauty then influences their decisions related to protecting the wilderness and preserving it for future generations.

Rick Dickinson

@coyotebum

Locale: Southwest Virginia

"Keep the camera handy and become comfortable shooting on the go."