Topic

optimum length of snowshoe poles; recommended poles

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) optimum length of snowshoe poles; recommended poles

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Ethan A.
    BPL Member

@mountainwalker

Locale: SF Bay Area & New England

I'm new to snowshoeing and looking forward to our first trip in a few weeks.

How much longer should snowshoe poles be than your typical hiking pole length?

Would you recommend single or double section poles over 3 section poles? I don't think my 3 section pole can be made long enough. And a single shaft would be strongest, though more of a pain to transport.

Which single and double section poles would you recommend that I can get snowbaskets for?

Michael B

@mbenvenuto

Locale: Vermont

I would definitely recommend adjustable poles like the black diamond flick locks. There is no one length that works for snowshoeing, since it in part depends on how deep the snow is that you are in, particularly if you are breaking trail. If you are in really a really deep trough, even medium length poies may be up over your head. You may want to go longer on the descent, but you really don't need long poles for snowshoeing for the most part.

Generally I use 120 cm, which is my downhill ski length, so sort of medium length for my height (5'9"), but I will go shorter than that at times.

Ethan A.
    BPL Member

@mountainwalker

I'm sharing Doug's respose from a PM: "my snowshoe poles are usually 5 cm longer than typical trekking poles. However, I usually run my trekking poles long for using the nordic walking (push-off) style for summer use so they're already about 5 cm long- perfect for snowshoeing."