Topic

carbon fiber tarp pole breakage.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) carbon fiber tarp pole breakage.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

First off, I need to say that I have only ever backpacked with a flat tarp that was pitched off of trees or boulders.

Recently I picked up a zpacks carbon fiber pole off of gear swap and I just received a trailstar off of gearswap today.

Obviously I tried pitching it on my front lawn.

Everything was good until I snapped the pole while tightening the guylines.

I didn't think that I was tightening it too hard. I've tightened down my flat tarp much harder off of trees (which is probably my problem as I have no experience using a tarp pole).

Are these carbon fiber poles really flimsy or was I just tightening it too hard? I was trying to tighten it down enough that it would have a taught storm pitch without flapping.

Having my center pole break on me in a storm could be a serious problem.

Are aluminum poles going to be this way too?

I don't use trekking poles unfortunately.

Billy Ray
    Spectator

@rosyfinch

Locale: the mountains

Perhaps the pole had a crack in it you didn't notice.

Billy

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

The only carbon fiber pole that I ever broke had been tightly packed in a duffle checked in an airliner. Those gorilla baggage handlers can break about anything.

–B.G.–

Ralph Burgess
    BPL Member

@ralphbge