Topic

Onion Valley, Gardiner Basin, Sixty Lakes Basin, Rae Lakes Onion Valley Loop 8/20-8/26

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Onion Valley, Gardiner Basin, Sixty Lakes Basin, Rae Lakes Onion Valley Loop 8/20-8/26

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Jani Kikuts
    Spectator

@enginerd

Locale: Southern California

As an engineer I do not pride myself on my writing skills, so please forgive any typos and poor grammar :) This is my first trail report here, so before I dive in let me give a little history on my backpacking background. The first time I went backpacking was in high school, a friend’s family invited me along to Mineral King for 5 days to keep their sons company. We would be one of the first parties over still snowy Franklin Pass that year and ventured down Rattlesnake Creek to the Kern to camp, fish and relax. A number of years went by before I had the opportunity to go on another extended trip, this time from Cottonwood Meadows to Mt. Whitney via the back route, that trip left yet another strong impression on me. Lucky enough to reside in San Diego I lived an active outdoors lifestyle of weekend hiking and mountain biking while finishing my engineering degree, starting a career, and forming a family. Now in my early 30’s I love this time of my life and luckily I’m finally able to get back to backpacking, this time on a slightly more regular basis.