Topic

Cannot remove the Leki Carbide tips from my GG Poles

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Cannot remove the Leki Carbide tips from my GG Poles

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Bryce
    BPL Member

@antigroundhogday

Locale: Stamford, CT

Been trying like heck to remove these tips from my GG KT4s poles:
    http://www.backcountryedge.com/leki-carbide-flextips-pair.aspx

I looked on youtube, and whacked them with the crescent wrench, then stuck the tips in hot water (to expand the plastic) and whacked them…still no luck.

Little help?

Steven Paris
    BPL Member

@saparisor

Locale: Pacific Northwest

I have no actual experience doing this, but was looking up the same thing recently (for a different pole).

Anyway, it seems that boiling water should do the trick. How long did you "soak" the pole for? My understanding is that you shouldn't have to whack too hard once the adhesive has loosened enough.

Bryce
    BPL Member

@antigroundhogday

I soaked it for 30-40 seconds I reckon. Smacked the heck out of it. I wonder if GG uses some adhesive vs. stock Leki poles?

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Now that you have probably violated any guarantee on the poles, did it ever occur to you that the tips are not intended to be removed?

Most hikers would be complaining if the tips were coming off.

–B.G.–

Bryce
    BPL Member

@antigroundhogday

Not sure why they offer replacement Leki tips on their website if they weren't meant to come off….just like every other Leki trekking pole out there. Otherwise they'd ask you to send them in for replacing the tips. *shrugs*

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley