Topic

Silk vs Wool Long Johns

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Silk vs Wool Long Johns

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Ultra Magnus

@ultra_magnus

I'm new to this and just recently discovered silk light weight long johns… So far, I've been really partial towards wool. I have a handful of wool cycling gear, and absolutely love it, as well as some wool casual clothing. Warmth, comfort, dryness, odor repulsion, etc., it's fantastic…

But, silk weighs less- but how does it compare in these other categories? Also, is silk long underwear a knit stretchy fabric like normal long underwear? My only experience with silk clothing was with woven non-stretchy dress shirt type materials. I'd think you would need something somewhat stretchy for good next to skin contact and comfort.

thanks,
    BM

William Zila
    BPL Member

@ultralightwillinn-m

Locale: Albuquerque

Although I have no experience with silk thermals I have lots of experience with polypro and fleece type the best I have come across is underarmor coldgear 1.0,2.0,.30 a set of 2.0 will weigh in at 12ounces for mediums and are amazingly warm per weight better then the polypro ones I have tried and I would assume more warmth then silk due to the grid weave of the coldgear which is the reason they are so warm for there weight hope I helped

Ultra Magnus

@ultra_magnus

Thanks, that is actually a bit helpful. My wife recently bought me some synthetic waffle knit thermal tops, I think they are from the Eddie Bauer store, that are actually very comfortable… I'll check the tag tonight and see what they are made of and weigh them…

BM

Stephen P

@spavlock

Locale: Mid-Atlantic

I wear wool and polypro. It all depends on the weather and conditions. I prefer a nice merino wool pair for real warmth when hiking. To each his own.