Topic

“The One” vs Lunar Solo

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) “The One” vs Lunar Solo

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Dave Myers
    Spectator

@patientwolf

Locale: South Western Oklahoma

I am new to ultralight backpacking and am looking at getting my first "real" tent. What camping I have done previously has been with just a crappy Wal Mart tent.

I have pretty much narrowed my choices down to either "The One" from Gossamer Gear or a Six Moon Designs Lunar Solo.

To this point I have been leaning to the Lunar Solo simply because it is slightly less expensive and for a few dollars more they will seam seal it so I know it will be done right as opposed to trying to do it myself and screwing it up.

Both of these tents are supposed to be fairly easy to pitch but I'm wondering if anyone out there has any experience with both tents and can tell me which would be easier for an inexperienced backpacker to set up. I live in an area that often sees high winds so I need something that is going to be easy to set up to stand up to that.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

S P

@highaltitude

Did you consider anything from Tarptent?

If so, what criteria did you use to not consider a Tarptent vs the one and lunar solo?

Brad Fisher
    Spectator

@wufpackfn

Locale: NC/TN/VA Mountains

Dave,

I have the GG One and the Tarptent Moment. Both are very good tents in my opinion. I used both on a trip in the Smokies a few weeks ago and they handle 2 inches of rain one night without issue.

Pro/Cons:
    – Tarptent setups up very fast. GG requires more effort and a lot of stakes.
    – GG is a little noisy in the wind, but seems to be getting better
    – Tarptent is cheaper
    – Tarptent has more useable room in my opinion

Tarptent Moment is my favorite single man tent at the moment.

Brad

Dave Myers