Topic

Is going barefoot healthier?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Is going barefoot healthier?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 38 total)
  • Author
    Ryan Gardner
    Spectator

@splproductions

I've been reading websites such as barefooters.org and barefoothikers.org because I really have loved the times that I go out-and-about barefoot.

I've also found that there is a small school of thought that says that our feet have evolved over millions of years to function properly and we are messing them up by wearing shoes. (Read some of the article snippets at this link: http://www.barefooters.org/medicine/). Some of these studies suggest that shoewear increases ankle injuries, etc. Also check out http://www.unshod.org/pfbc/toysaw.htm and other information on that site.

I am by no means a doctor, but this way of thinking makes sense to me.

There is also a company "Terra Plana" that makes eco-friendly shoes (some completely from recycled material). They have a line called "Vivo Barefoot" that has a very thin, flexible Kevlar sole that supposedly makes you feel like you are walking barefoot (but still have the social advantages of wearing a shoe). http://www.terraplana.com/vivobarefoot_info.php

Thoughts anyone?

Cayenne Redmonk
    BPL Member

@redmonk

Locale: Greater California Ecosystem

While the soles of the feet adapt quickly, I don't think the rest of my feet have ever become conditioned to being slammed into rocks, roots, and thorny plants. My shoes suffer a lot of damage that would otherwise be taken by my foot, especially around the toes. I don't think backpacking barefoot works for what I consider backpacking and barefoot.

John Sixbey

@wolfeye