Topic

Stream crossings with low-rise trail runners

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Stream crossings with low-rise trail runners

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Frederic Chang
    BPL Member

@freddych

I'm making my first forray into ultra-light backpacking. I normally carry everything but the kitchen sink. Last year since I graduated from grad school and finally got myself a real job, my annual trip was pretty tough as my fitness level has dropped.

So I've decided to help make up for it by reducing the amount of weight significantly.

I'm most concerned about crossing streams, esp places where there is a decent amount of water and no way to cross it without stepping in at least ankle deep water. Is there anything you guys do to prevent your feet from getting wet? Does it even matter?

I've always been told that wet feet lead to blisters, and it seems like going low-top or to non-waterproof shoes may not be such a great idea.

Andy F
    Spectator

@andyf

Locale: Midwest/Midatlantic

If it's not going to get above 40 or 50 F, I often wear GoreTex socks while hiking.

If the water is too deep for them, or if I want to keep my shoes dry when not wearing them, I cross barefoot. Wearing just the shoes and dumping out the water can keep your socks a little more dry.

Usually, I'm wearing non-waterproof trail runners (waterproof ones dry slowly, and they always get wet somehow), and I just get them wet. If the temps are over 50F, I'm probably wearing thin nylon or polyester dress socks. These dry quickly, and don't cause discomfort when wet. If it's colder, and I'm not wearing GoreTex socks, I'm wearing wool socks over the dress sock liners. The wool socks keep my feet warm enough, and the liners prevent blister issues.

Ryan W

@mwilks