Topic

My tenkara story (and why you should too)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Fishing & Tenkara My tenkara story (and why you should too)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    Kyle Meyer
    BPL Member

@kylemeyer

Locale: Portland, OR

Backpack fly ishing report

Background

I'm new to the world of fishing. I grew up fishing occasionally with my father, but have come to understand that I went fishing, but never really learned how to fish. Last year, I started bringing a somewhat lightweight five piece graphite spin rod on backpacking trips to lakes and was hooked shortly after the first few fish were.

Catching and eating fish while backpacking added an interesting new dimension to my trips. I started looking for trips around my area with great fishing and planning my time around it. There were two big issues though:

1. I didn't know what I was doing. Fishing advice on the internet is largely anecdotal and contradictory. But, by and large, everyone can throw a bobber out into a lake with some chemically delicious blob on the end and end up with something. Because I had no idea about the mechanics of fishing, why fish would bite, how deep I should put the lure, or a multitude of other considerations, my success was inconsistent at best.
    2. My fishing pole was heavy and awkward. Even with a lightweight graphite rod and "ultralight pack reel", my fishing tackle weighed 20oz including various lures and weights and bobbers and bubbles. I had to stick the pole awkwardly out the side pocket and the reel would occasionally catch on bushes or trees while hiking. When I wanted to fish, assembling the pieces, stringing the line through the eyelets and attaching a lure took precious minutes I could have been fishing.

Enter Tenkara