Topic

Guyline for Tarp that won't slip

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Guyline for Tarp that won't slip

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Randy Martin
    BPL Member

@randalmartin

Locale: Colorado

I just purchased the Gossamer Gear C-Twinn tarp.  The supplied guyline is too slick and slips when I put any significant amount of tension on the line.  Asking for suggestions to either make the line less slick so that it will hold or suggestions for better guyline that doesn’t slip.

The line locs I am using are these http://gossamergear.com/line-lock-8pack.html

The guyline that it came with is http://gossamergear.com/ezc-2-tarp-guyline.html

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

I am no expert on LineLocs and don’t know if there are different sizes (e.g., 2 vs 3). All the ones I have say they will work with 2mm line and they slip with several brands of line. I went to 3mm and no more slipping.

Billy Ray
    Spectator

@rosyfinch

Locale: the mountains

Yes… that’s my experience too… I think you’ll need 3mm line for that particular line lock. or get the micro line locks

billy

Clifford Deakyne
    BPL Member

@cliffdeakyne

Locale: Colorado Rockies foot hills

Channeling “eric c”, if you want to use the line that you have, replace the line locks with a Blakes Hitch.

Dylan Atkinson
    BPL Member

@atkinsondylan

Locale: Southwest

Or, just put a slippery half hitch so the line wont slip. Hell, put two in if the weather looks bad.

James holden
    BPL Member

@bearbreeder-2

Keep the line locks but tie back the tails to the guyline with a blakes hitch

no slip guaranteed

;)

Randy Martin
    BPL Member

@randalmartin

I ended up using the Taut Line Hitch.  I used the directions on this site http://www.cascadedesigns.com/msr/blog/best-camping-knot-tie-taut-line-hitch-knot/