Topic

Enlightened Equipment Prodigy – 30 deg

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Commerce Reader Reviews Enlightened Equipment Prodigy – 30 deg

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    kevperro .
    BPL Member

@kevperro

Locale: Washington State

Some context: I've been backpacking for >25 years and I've done two long distance (>500 mile) hikes during that time, along with more than I can count < 100 mile excursions. I am an ex-Army Ranger and several years in the military living in swamps and jungles with little to no shelter. I understand what it is to be wet and cold with nothing in my possession dry for days on end.

Past sleeping bags have all been goose down except in the military, and one synthetic bag I tried about 12-years ago. It sucked…it lost loft/warmth almost immediately and sowered me on synthetic insulation. When backpacking I've never had serious problems with goose down insulation. I've done a week in the SE with prolonged wetness and while my down bags lost loft, I survived fine.

So what possessed me to try another synthetic option? I don't know… I'm sick. Keeping a down bag dry is always a concern when I'm in camp. When I switched to a tarp I wanted the extra assurance that if I got some rain spray, that it wouldn't materially change my comfort/safety level. The weight gain vs. goose down was offset by the ability to delete some of the things I might bring to keep goose down dry. No bivy or extra clothing layers just in case. That and I read good things about the newer synthetics in terms of longevity.