Topic

sleeping system

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) sleeping system

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    eric schultz
    BPL Member

@schultz104

Locale: phoenix

I am doing the JMT in mid August. I have a nemo siren 30 degree quilt. I am looking for lightweight(ounces,not rating) layering system. I have a beanie and montbell down jacket. I did a over night in az this weekend. I do not know want the low was but when i poured water into my plastic cup it made some slush. Nevertheless i was cold at night. I had a lightweight top, beanie and put my jacket over my legs. Does anybody have suggestions of specfic brands that will not break the bank
    Thanks
    Eric

Tim Marshall
    BPL Member

@marshlaw303

Locale: Minnesota

What are you using for a pad? Without a warm enough pad you will be cold but it feels cold on top as it sucks your heat out the bottom.

The Siren is a nice little quilt. A bit pricy and a bit heavy with a few wonky quirks but it should be warm to freezing with just a base layer.

-Tim

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

Tim (the guy above me) makes reasonably priced quilts that are highly regarded on here. Get a 20 degree.

edit: forgot to add, his company name is enlightened equipment.

eric schultz
    BPL Member

@schultz104

Tim
    I am using the nemo pad that they recommend.
    Thanks
    Eric

Tim Marshall
    BPL Member

@marshlaw303

Locale: Minnesota

Eric,