Topic

The Big MYOG Ultralight Hammock project

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear The Big MYOG Ultralight Hammock project

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Max Dilthey
    Spectator

@mdilthey

Locale: MaxTheCyclist.com

Ok, I've been sleeping in a hammock for about a year now, and I really want to make my own ultralight gathered-end hammock. However, I am a complete MYOG novice. Anyone have any of the following?

1) A good guide on making the lightest MYOG hammock (within reason)

2) A good source for materials like 7/64 Amsteel Blue line and the hammock silnylon (no idea which fabric weight to get, all I know is I want it in charcoal.)

3. Any advice for a first-timer.

In my head, the hammock seems simple enough, since all I really imagine I have to do is gather both ends and rig a ridgeline that has a whoopie sling on both ends, and then two other cords to clip to the whoopie sling(s) and the webbing to wrap around trees. Seems simple… who knows what I'm getting myself into.

I would also love help coming up with a shopping list.

Thanks BPL!

Eric Lundquist
    BPL Member

@cobberman

Locale: Northern Colorado

1. It depends on your weight and tolerance for comfort. 1.1 ripstop, not silnylon as you want it to be breathable, is the lightest I would be comfortable using. Absolute lightest would be cuben fiber, M90, M50, or Nobul type fabric but I don't know of very many who have been successful with these fabrics and an average weight hanger.