Topic

Do I really need a Waterproof Bivy?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Do I really need a Waterproof Bivy?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Randy Martin
    BPL Member

@randalmartin

Locale: Colorado

After doing quite a bit of reading on this Forum about the merits of a ultralight water resistant bivy paired up with a Tarp I am questioning the real need for a waterproof bivy. For those of you with experience with both, are their ever cases where you really prefer a waterproof bivy?

I am just getting started and for cost reasons have a GoLite Poncho Tarp and a Sierra Designs Baffin Bivy. Total paid combined $139. I plan to use exclusively in three seasons and I live in Colorado where the humidity isn't a big concern.

The ultra light water resistent bivies like the MLD Soul or MLD SuperLight are more $ than what I paid for the both Tarp and waterproof bivy combined. Just wondering how much better the water resistant bivy is and if that price premium is justified.

Randy Martin
    BPL Member

@randalmartin

The Pinon Bivy from Katabatic Gear seems to be one the least expensive well designed, ultra light examples I have found here http://katabaticgear.com/shop/pinon-bivy/

I am interested in any other suggestions.

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

You may experience significant condensation in humid conditions. Let us know. Equinox makes an ultralight water resistant bivy for about $60. It's what I use, with a headnet, for three season backpacking.

http://www.equinoxltd.com/the-gear/sleeping-bags-and-liners/sprawler-ultralite-bivi.cfm

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Randy, I don't know if you are any good with a sewing machine, but you might consider sewing your own design out of a Momentum fabric, or something similar. Mine came out a little over 8 ounces.