Topic

Valandre Mirage

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Valandre Mirage

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Tyler Cockrell

@tylercockrell

Does anyone have any experience with this company and or sleeping bag. (Valandre Mirage) It looks very light for its temp rating. I think they make up for weight in the length of the zipper.

Charles Jennings
    Spectator

@vigilguy

Locale: Northern Utah

I have about three years of experience with Valandre’, and own their Mirage, Shocking Blue, Kiruna, Thule, Oural Mittens, and am receivng their Bering jacket in a week or so.

In my opinion, there are pros/cons about the short zipper on the Mirage. If I am using the bag below 50 degrees, I don’t worry about getting too warm, I can regulate the temperature enough by having the zipper open if need be. I have used the bag outside without a shelter down to 12 degrees one winter night, just to test its limits, and stayed warm. I had a base layer of marmot driclime on, along with a balaclava.

Valandre’s bags use some fabulous goose down, or duck down in some of their bags. This is only my opinion, but after using their bags and jackets pretty extensively, I have to say right now that I feel that their duck down is equivalent to the goose down that is used in bags here in the states, and their goose down is second to none.

We tested the Kiruna jacket right alongside a competitor’s jacket of similar fill, that is U.S. made, and the Kiruna was noticably warmer.

Not sure exactly where they get their supply of down, but it is definitely the creme de la creme, in my opinion.

They have some pretty innovative designs in the Shocking Blue and the Mirage, where the baffles are cut in such a way that the weight of the bag is hardly felt against your skin once you crawl inside and allow for the bag to heat up.