Topic

Ray Way tarp kit two person

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Commerce Reader Reviews Ray Way tarp kit two person

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    shannon stoney
    Spectator

@shannonstoney

I just finished making Ray and Jenny’s two person tarp. I had had the book for some time and had been wanting to make it for about a year. For a while, you could not order the kit separate from the book, but now you can. So I ordered the tarp kit and the net tent kit.

The directions in the book are very clear and easy to follow. I have a lot of sewing experience, but I think most beginning sewers could do fine with this kit. It took about ten hours. There are lots of good sewing tips in the book about sewing with silnylon. For example: use coated paper clips to hold the hem fold while you sew, instead of pins.

I have not sewed the net tent yet, and I will report on that when I finish it.

I erected it outside yesterday in order to seal the seams, and it is quite roomy underneath. I am going to test it in the backyard over the next couple of weeks, to try different ways of pitching it, etc. I learned a lot about different knots reading the book! I felt as if I was finally able to learn some useful boy scout stuff. In girl scouts, you mostly learn how to sell cookies.

John Richardson

@johntrichardson

Yeah. That tarp is great. It’s lightweight. And once you’ve read the tarp book it’s easy to set up (knots, picking location, etc…). Ray has some visual instructions on his website (http://www.ray-way.com/tarp-nettent/pitch/index.shtml)

Surprisingly to me, sewing it yourself (perhap girl scouts have the advantage here?) really adds to the outdoor experience. That sounds strange, but I feel a more visceral connection with the tarp since I created it myself. I know how to fix it. I know what each part is used for, and why, etc…