Topic

Tarp,groundcloth,bug net suggestions for frugal newbie

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Tarp,groundcloth,bug net suggestions for frugal newbie

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Patrick Q

@japhy123

Greetings,

I am in the process of gathering some ultralight gear for a Glacier trip in August. I am a relatively new camper and would like to build a tarp setup for one person.

I am willing to sacrifice a bit on weight if it will protect me from the elements (since I am new to tarp camping) and I would like to keep my tarp, bug net, and groundcloth purchase under $200, with mixed-use ideas preferred. The products also need to be delivered within a month as I need them before August 1st (I know Mountain Laurel Design takes 6-8 weeks to get stuff out).

You all are a wealth of information so I look forward to your responses. Sizes for groundcloth/tarps are appreciated if you suggest I just go out and buy a swath of a specific material.

Thanks,

Japhy123

Elliott Wolin
    BPL Member

@ewolin

Locale: Hampton Roads, Virginia

The absolute cheapest way is to make them yourself. Tarps and bug nets are particularly easy. Materials can be mail-ordered and received within a week, less if you pay a little more for 2-day delivery. Patterns are available from many places, and all probably are fine. I use Ray Jardine's patterns.

Even learning how to sew doesn't take too much time, but your timescale is somewhat tight…

Patrick Q

@japhy123

Thanks! For the time being, I'd prefer purchasing something considering my time constraints. With more time, i'll probably try to go the MYOG way.

drowning in spam

@leaftye

Locale: SoCal

http://www.bearpawtents.com/at1.html

They also have bug tents if you want to use a flat tarp.

This place also have affordable bug tents that you can use under a flat tarp.