Topic

Preliminary LMT gear list

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Preliminary LMT gear list

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Tommy Wiebold

@twiebold

I'm relatively new to the light backpacking scene but I've lived in the Sierras my whole life and have always wanted to do this trail. The plan is to do it 15AUG-29AUG. I've seen a few other people's JMT pack lists but I was wondering if I could get some feedback on my own (note, I don't own all the equipment yet, this is just a tentative plan). I plan on using all resupply points, so the weights listed for consumables are for the longest stint (MTR to Whitney), which I plan to tackle in around 7 days.

Pack – GoLite Jam2 – 31 oz
    Cover – Trash bag

Shelter – GoLite Shangri-La 1 + Floor – 26 oz
    Bag – GoLite UltraLite +20 quilt – 25 oz
    Pad – Therm-a-Rest Ridge Rest Pad – Short – 9 oz

Packed Clothing
    Rain Jacket – Don't have one yet, something cheap and lightweight though
    Fleece – Loki Midi Micro Fleece – 12 oz
    Gloves – I have some wool inserts, but am considering something more heavy duty..
    Extra socks/underwear – Do I need these?
    Underwear – ExOficio Boxer Briefs – 2.2 oz

Kitchen
    Stove – Haven't got one yet. I am thinking Caldera Cone system or MSR PcketRocket, any suggestions?
    Water Container – Platypus 1L w/ Hose – 3 oz
    Water Treatment – I am thinking tablets for the weight they save, but I don't know because I only have one Platypus and I don't want to have long wait periods hiking without water while it purifies.
    Bowl/pot – BackpackingLight FireLight 550 – 2.7 oz

Other stuff
    Headlamp – Petzl e+LITE – 1 oz
    Matches
    First Aid Kit – will be minimal, with just some bandaids and some ibuprofin
    pocket knife