Topic

Zelph’s Stoveworks SS Starlyte Ultralyte Alcohol Stove

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Commerce Reader Reviews Zelph’s Stoveworks SS Starlyte Ultralyte Alcohol Stove

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Tony Beasley
    BPL Member

@tbeasley

Locale: Pigeon House Mt from the Castle

Technical review of Zelph's Stoveworks SS Starlyte Ultralyte Alcohol Stove and E-Z fold windscreen.

Stove type

The stove is a wickerized open top alcohol stove with a built in pot stand.

First impressions

I am a machinist and a have a strong interest in designing and making BP stoves and I am very critical of the manufacturing quality of other MYOG stoves. When I unpacked the Starlyte stove I noticed that it is well made and presented, the stove came with a well made E-Z fold windscreen, the quality of the Starlyte actually impressed me.

Construction and materials

The stove is made from a small aluminum tin with the top cutout and filled with fiberglass with a stainless steel cover to hold the fiberglass in, four holes have been drilled equal spaced around the edge where the integrated pot stand was then place, the pot stand is made from two pieces of stainless steel wire which have been spot welded together and then bent to fit into the holes. The windscreen is made of aluminum which has been crinkled, the clip that came with the screen is a hanger from a curtain.

Specifications

Weights as measured on my scales
    Stove: 14.8 grams (this is as advertised)
    The E-Z fold windscreen: 21.2 grams
    Clip that came with the windscreen to hold it together: 3.4 grams
    Measuring cup: 3.4 grams
    Total of 42.8 grams

Diameter of stove: 55 mm
    Height of stove and pot stand: 44 mm

Testing