Topic

bivy & tarp vs. tent

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) bivy & tarp vs. tent

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Craig Greenlee

@greenleecca

I'm new to the light backpacking arena. I have always done it the heavy way, comfortable, safe and well prepared, but heavy. I've become tired of carrying all of that weight, and am looking at ways to at least cut back if not being truly light. Recently scrapped my tent and changed to mosquito netting which was excellent for the weight savings, but the unexpected storm that rolls in effectively ends my trip. I am considering going with an UL bivy & tarp. Does anyone have any personal experience with the Equinox ultralight bivy cover? Would it be effective when used with the tarp? Does it breath as the company description claims? I have done a lot of research regarding what is available in the way of bivvies and tarps, but what are the "real world" considerations associated with their use? Condensation, set up, wind whipping the rain and tarp around, etc.
    I would appreciate feedback from the experienced.

Glenn Roberts

@garkjr

Locale: Southwestern Ohio

I used a tarp and bivy for quite a few years, and did so successfully. However, a big issue for me was finding a bivy that was weatherproof when battened down, but still offered the option of great ventilation combined with bug protection for hot, muggy August nights in Ohio. Also, strictly as a matter of personal preference, I was never comfortable under any tarp smaller than 8×10. The combination I came to like best was an Integral Designs Silshelter and Salathe bivy. As you read what follows, keep in mind that those were the choices I was most comfortable with; I never liked the extremely light bivies now available because they lacked the bug protection when the top was opened up.