Topic

Rainbow, Moment DW, Notch or …….

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Rainbow, Moment DW, Notch or …….

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Christopher Gilmore
    BPL Member

@chrisjgilmore

Locale: Eureka

OK folks, I’m sure this has been asked before but I can’t find it. I backpack without hiking poles and use a Downmat UL 7 pad. I’m 5’9″ 190 lbs and i have been using a bivy for the last many years.

I’m now done with my bivy, I’m having a bit of a hard time scooting my old bones in and out of it.

With that said I have had one of Henry’s tents in the past and really enjoyed it. I need a solo shelter and having interior space for me to sit up for easy in and out and the ability to easily get dressed inside is important to me. However after sleeping in a bivy for many years condensation is not my friend. Hence the two double wall tents and the Rainbow with the condensation protection.

Pros and cons of each?        If you have a solid choice in the same or cheaper price range feel free to suggest but contrast against these tents in the Title please. (Rainbow, Moment DW & Notch)

Thoughts?

Billy Ray
    Spectator

@rosyfinch

Locale: the mountains

As far as Tarptent goes… I only have experience with my Notch. I like it, but it’s a bit of a pain to set up. I have read many posts here written by people happy with their Moment tents… easier to set up they say.

Personally, I have my Notch for very rainy climates as the tent doesn’t have to be getting wet while you put up the fly. However, it is a chore to put the Notch inner up without the fly, which I prefer on starry nights. So my solution is a more traditional tent with lots of netting for star viewing in the dryer climates, and the Notch for wetter climates like the Pacific Northwest.