Topic

setting up Golite poncho tarp

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) setting up Golite poncho tarp

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 55 total)
  • Author
    George Matthews
    BPL Member

@gmatthews

please look over these pics and critiquetarp1

tarp2

Thomas Knighton

@tomcat1066

Locale: Southwest GA

I'm no expert, but it looks pretty tight. How well does it cover you?

Tom

George Matthews
    BPL Member

@gmatthews

Hi Tom

This is new for me. I think like I will have adequate coverage. I'm going to use a bivy with it, too.

Was playing in my backyard tonight.

Thomas Knighton

@tomcat1066

Locale: Southwest GA

For what it's worth, it looks good to me. Of course, I've never done the poncho/tarp thing myself exactly (got a Gatewood Cape instead), so take my opinion with a grain of salt ;)

Tom

Doug Johnson
    BPL Member

@djohnson

Locale: Pacific Northwest

pt2

That doesn't look bad, but I find that a poncho tarp is better set up in this fashion. This puts less tension on the hood area, which is the weak spot of the tarp. It's really easy to tension as well. Lots of ways to pitch a tarp though!

This is a BMW tarp, by the way.

ptt
    dj

George Matthews
    BPL Member

@gmatthews

Hi Doug

That makes sense about the hood's weakness.

I will try the 'lean to' approach tomorrow.

Doug Johnson
    BPL Member

@djohnson

I also highly recommend sealing the seams around the neck. This adds a lot of strength.

The lean-to is a good deal- especially if you can put the down side into the wind.

Have fun- poncho tarps are cool stuff!

Dave .
    BPL Member

@ramapo

Man, I have to ditch my tent and get a tarp. I've never tried one, but they do look like a lot of fun.

Doug Johnson
    BPL Member

@djohnson

It IS fun David! So simple and minimal.