Topic

John Muir Trail 7/11-7/24

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports John Muir Trail 7/11-7/24

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    John Rowan
    BPL Member

@jrowan

JMT SOBO: 7/11-7/24 (was supposed to be 7/26)

This is definitely going to be a longer one that I wrote for me as much as to post on BPL, so no feelings are going to be hurt if anyone's just here to look at the pictures. (I tried to add in lots of pictures.)

I've been posting here for a few years now and have had some great trips since then, but this is the first time that I've actually had something that was worth writing up for reasons beyond “I slept outside and it was really pretty.” This was a lot longer in both distance and duration than anything I've done before, and probably everything I'll do in the next few years.

This hike was also noteworthy for me, since, for the first time since I started backpacking, I had to deal with a new obstacle to finishing- me. It's not super uncommon for me to get a bit of “civilization panic” early on in a longer backpacking trip (miss coffee, miss shower, miss home), but it usually goes away after a day or so. (Having that feeling subside is actually one of may favorite parts of the longer trips, since it gets replaced with the raw simplicity of just walking.) It wasn't the case here, and it took me over a week (and the addition of some hiking partners) to really start seeing the trail the way I should. It was part of the experience, and completing the hike was richer for it, but I've never really been out and had periods where I wanted so badly to go back in.