Topic

How many sleeping bags do you own?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) How many sleeping bags do you own?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 55 total)
  • Author
    JCH
    BPL Member

@pastyj-2-2

Living the SE US, it just too darn hot (for me) to backpack in the summer. My prime time is Oct – April, but even in Jan-Feb we can have lows anywhere from the 50s to the teens.

I have been using a WM Megalight for the past 9 years and love it, but recently got tired of the fact that it is sometimes just too much bag and ordered an EE Revelation 30 deg 750 FP (really excited about it's arrival) for the warmer trips.

This got me wondering about the sleep system quivers of those who face very different climates, and climate extremes. We often discuss individual pieces of gear, but I'm interested in your "collection" and your decisions/experiences that led to it's creation.

Hooded or quilt?
    Temp ratings?
    Down or Synthetic?
    Ect.

Charles Grier
    BPL Member

@rincon

Locale: Desert Southwest

Two. One is a 28 oz Marmot Helium I use in colder weather, the other is a 19 oz Western Mountaineering Summerlite I use in warmer conditions. I am a three season backpacker. I spend most of my outdoor time in the western mountains and the southwestern canyon country.

Doug Green
    BPL Member

@dougpgreen

Locale: North Carolina Piedmont

Lots of cheap synthetics for loaners or car camping, emergency use kept int cars/trucks, etc., but I only use 3 for hiking. I don't generally camp with the weather too much below freezing. I have a 15 degree down for cold weather (with a liner I can get down to 15 easily), a 32 degree down for summer / temps to 40, and a 55 degree synthetic bag for hot rainy July/August camping in NC when I know I will be a sweaty mess.

Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator

@jenmitol