Topic

Newbie gear list

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Newbie gear list

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Jacob Pewitt
    Spectator

@wafflebox-2-2

Howdy folks! I've done a fair bit of kayak camping over the years, but I am brand new to backpacking. I did a 4 day trip in Colorado last month with rented gear, and now I am hooked. Most of my old kayak camping gear had to be thrown out due to corrosion, so I am basically starting from scratch. I also will be using a hammock instead of a tent.

Most of my trips will be in or near Florida during the summer, fall and winter.

I'd be very appreciative of any feedback you might provide, especially about stuff I might be missing. The biggest area I know I can improve on is my pack, but I want to do a few trips with this REI bag (which I got quite cheaply) so I can decide what attributes/layout I am looking for in a big before I replace it with something lighter.

I also know I could save some weight by switching to an alcohol stove, but I'm just not at a point where I am willing to fiddle with that just yet.

I am also undecided on what my clothes will be while hiking, though I know I will be using either Merrell Trail Gloves 2 or Vibram Spyridon MR.

Thanks a bunch!

http://lighterpack.com/r/cgxwyn

David Drake
    BPL Member

@daviddrake

Locale: North Idaho

Hi Jacob,

Looks pretty good so far–here's a few thoughts: