Topic

First aid kit contents

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) First aid kit contents

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 59 total)
  • Author
    Dan Magdoff
    BPL Member

@highsierraguy

Locale: Northern California

Hey all

I wanted to see what everyone keeps in their first aid kits. I have always had a pretty big and bulky one because ive always wanted to be prepared for just about anything. I am an ER nurse so I guess its kinda my passion.

Recently, I have been rethinking what I should keep in my kit. I thought I would break it down logically into medical problems that could happen in the back country, and then decide what would be needed. Obviously just about anything could go wrong out there…but I am thinking of the most common and likely to happen. Heres what a got…

Minor and major lacerations
    Fractures (most common being fingers, toes and then long bones)
    Compromised joints such as sprains, and over exerted or torn ligiments
    burns
    Allergic reactions
    Pain and inflammation
    GI upset
    Blisters

SO….looking at each of those my first aid contents list would look something like this…

band-aids
    2×2 gauze pads
    4×4 gauze pads
    antiseptic wipes
    Surgical glue
    sutures
    Finger splint
    tape
    gauze wrap
    kerlix wrap
    ACE bandage
    Benadryl
    Ibuprofin
    Imodium
    Tape
    mole skin
    10cc flushing syringe

It seems like a lot, but I feel like that would cover most anything that would happen.

Thoughts?

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Check out these threads.

Link

Link2

Search

Kenda Willey

@sonderlehrer

Your first aid kit sounds like mine, and I also have the feeling that it's too much. I don't have a flushing syringe, but it sounds like a good idea, and I think I'll add that to mine.