Topic

Light pack for a female & 1-man 3-season tent for Australia (NSW particularly)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Light pack for a female & 1-man 3-season tent for Australia (NSW particularly)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Sarah Jones
    BPL Member

@sj

Locale: Sydney

I need a new lightweight pack and 1-man tent. It is for Australia – I live in Sydney so will be bushwalking in the Blue Mountains particularly, but also hopefully the Snowy Mts (and Tasmania, Northern Territory, and NZ if I'm lucky). I have approx 20 years bushwalking experience in most of these regions, but have only ever had a heavy tent and pack (MEC Tarn 2 and Macpac Glissade). I'm not keen to carry that much weight any more!!

Tent – I would like to get something fully enclosed (ie no snakes or mozzies in the tent) and preferably <1kg (35oz). My current first choice is the Tarptent Moment DW. I don't currently use trekking poles but I am considering acquiring some (but they can't be used in a lot of places I would hike). I am hoping to be have some degree of wind/storm resistance but won't take it to the Snowies in winter by myself, hence only 3-season requirements. Ideally I would like to make or buy one of Roger Caffin's tents, but I don't think this is possible yet, so I'll need something in the interim.