Topic

Thanks for the help on my first MYOG pack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Thanks for the help on my first MYOG pack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    sam jepsen
    Spectator

@samjepsen

Locale: Southern California

Hey All,

This is my first time posting after close to 2 years reading countless threads and posts. I just wanted to say thank you to everyone that is active in these forums for the wealth of information that they share. It was of incalculable worth while making this pack. That being said, I would love feedback of any sort, on any aspect of the pack since I plan on making more in the future!

Materials:
    Black 210d 4.2oz sq/yd Dyneema Gridstop body
    Blue 1.1oz sq/d Silnylon roll-top closure, pockets and trim
    3.5oz sq/yd medium hand mesh pocket
    1/4" Closed cell foam for the straps
    nylon webbing of various widths

Approximate Dimensions
    10.5"x6.5"x23"(+9")
    As a box= [1570 cui (25.7L)] + [pockets of about 420cui, 162 cui x2 = 12L] = 32.7L total
    As a Cylinder= [2117 cui (34.7L)] + [pockets of about 420cui, 162 cui x2 = 12L] = 46.7L total

I know there's an "official" way to measure capacity that is semi-standardized but I am under the impression you have to pay for it (?). In any case, the numbers above should be enough for you to imagine and all I know is that it holds all the gear I am taking in the JMT this summer (including my bear canister).

1u

2u

3u

4u

5u

6u

7u

scale shot

Thanks again!

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

You might orient the photos differently so that they can be viewed right-side up.

–B.G.–

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA

Wow Sam!

It's hard to believe that's your first pack. It looks absolutely great.

The Dyneema will serve you well.

Todd

sam jepsen
    Spectator