Topic

device chargers that use lithium AA’s

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) device chargers that use lithium AA’s

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Adam Berg
    BPL Member

@adammberg

I have very little technical knowledge about electronics and batteries, how they charge, etc. Please educate me. Apologies for the long post.

I have seen discussions of fairly lightweight AA device chargers in a few threads. Specifically, these two:

Energizer, 45g for charger, runs off of 3 AA's (possibly discontinued?): http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093GIME8/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A1IHGAQ4WOI71D

Miller, 32g for charger, runs off of one AA: http://www.fasttech.com/products/0/10001919/1137904-miller-ml-102-universal-usb-smart-charger-version

What are the pro's and con's of these two? For example, I'm reading in the inReach SE thread that the Miller has the amperage to charge the inReach but the Energizer one does not. Will either work with pretty much any smartphone (if you have the right cable or adapter)? What about other devices that charge from USB but have different requirements, like headlamps, iPads, Kindles, Steripens, and so on?

What is the difference between the kinds of lithium AA's that these two chargers can use to top off electronic devices? Weight? Capacity? Reliability? Rechargeability?

The Miller one can charge rechargeable batteries in addition to using those batteries to charge other devices. How do the batteries you can charge with this Miller device compare to the Energizer lithium AA's you commonly see at RadioShack (other than the fact that one is rechargeable and one is not)?

Are there better chargers out there in this same weight range?