Topic

How to start mountaineering?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism How to start mountaineering?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Rishi Sugla

@rksugla

Locale: Mid-Atlantic

Hey all!

I'm an east coaster move out to socal in a few months and I've always been interested in mountaineering.

My issue is I don't know anybody out West right now and none of my close friends here backpack, let alone mountaineer.

What do I need to do to get started? As a soon-to-be graduate student I don't have much money to spare so I'd prefer not to take a course if at all possible.

Thanks in advance!

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

You might state what you mean by mountaineering. Different people have different meanings.

I don't know where you will be a student, but many large schools have outdoor clubs. Participate there and then ask your question.

–B.G.–

Billy Ray
    Spectator

@rosyfinch

Locale: the mountains

You can learn from a friend that already knows how to climb safely.
    Or from a climbing club.
    Or from a climbing school or private instructor that trades classes for money.

But if you are not already a climber you may not yet even understand the different types of climbing or know which you would like to get into.

Generally there is: rock climbing at road-side crags; general mountaineering which can involve some rock climbing, some glacier/ice travel, and some just scrambling; big mountain/high altitude climbing which is mostly on snow and ice.

That is an over simplification, but a good start for you to begin thinking about.

If you want to get some knowledge to start, pick up the book titled Freedom of the Hills.

Browse the internet for a climbing club in your area or in the area you will be moving to.