Topic

Packrafting Question

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Packrafting Packrafting Question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

I've decided to spend this summer learning to packraft. A bit about my background I've done a lot of canoeing and have done mild whitewater in a canoe. I've also been on commercial rafting trips and one very tricky Class 3 kayak with friends (it was a bit outside my comfort zone). I'm not an expert by any means but I have a good idea what my limits are and what I can and cannot navigate in a boat.

I'm interested in being able to do trips in places like the Bob and Teton Wilderness and eventually Alaska. So I want to be able to do Class III in a couple years but this summer I'll probably stop at easy Class II, at least on wilderness trips. Class III is as far as I'll ever go, I'm going to be a hiker with a boat not a technical whitewater guy.

Couple Questions

1. First I need to pick a boat. I'm leaning toward a Yak. Based on Alpacka's recommendations I'm a bit on the tall side for an Alpacka (5ft 8in). The Scout is tempting but even on milder rivers I figure I'll appreciate bigger tubes.

2. I need to decide if I want a spray deck. From Roman Dials book it looks like I either have to choose between not swamping the boat and a quicker exit if I flip. Any thoughts? I definitely will not be doing Eskimo Rolls or installing thigh straps for the time being. For this summer I was thinking I might stick with an open boat for most of my paddling.

3. I'm interested in trip ideas. I'm going to the PR Roundup but was hoping to do some beginner friendly runs before that. I was thinking I'd try some of the easier stuff in the Jackson Hole area. I'll be visiting friends in New Mexico on the way up so I might try a trip there.