Topic

Newbie needs advice on quilt vs bag

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Newbie needs advice on quilt vs bag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Kurt R

@kar211psu

Hello Everyone,
    I have tried to use the search command as much as possible and have read past posts on this topic but still have a few questions. I have been backpacking and camping for many years now, both in scouts and on my own.

Recently I've started to get back into it and would like to purchase a sleeping bag for just summer use.

When I was in scouts I never heard of quilts or top bags, it was always mummy or rectangular sleeping bag.

I'm currently looking at Mountain Hardware's Phantom 45, Marmot's Atom, and Jacks 'R' Better Shenandoah Summer Quilt. All are within $10 of each other due to a special deal through work and a sale at Jacks 'R' Better.

All seem to be of the same weight and temperature rating. My question is what is the benefit of choosing the quilt over the more traditional mummy bag? Do quilts pack smaller and thats why they are popular?

I would like to add that I am a warm sleeper and in the past have often gotten to warm durning summer backpacking trips, Northface synthetic bag no idea what model.

I'd like to thank everyone ahead of time for any advice or information they can offer and apologize if this is a topic that has been addressed many times before (honest couldn't find answers to my above questions :))

Scott Jones

@ultimate2

I would go with the quilt if you are only looking at those options. If it is just for summer, the quilt is superior due to several factors:

1.)If you happen to be a larger person the quilt is much less confining and claustrophobic.