Topic

Suggestions on how I can lighten my pack further

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Suggestions on how I can lighten my pack further

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Tony L

@luch0623

I am new to lightweight backpacking and am yet to even take my first trip. I have done some traditional backpacking in the past–mostly 2-3 night trips. I have already returned most all of my traditional gear for lightweight options but I think there is more that I can do.

Where I will be hiking: primarily in the Colorado Rockies

Length: 1-7 day trips (possibly longer with resupplys)

Who do I hike with: I will be hiking in a group of 2-4 for most trips but do plan to do some solo trips as well

Here is screen shot of my list. Let me know if there is a better way to provide visibility to an Excel file on here. I cant find a way to attach a file (2nd post..)

Gear List

The 2nd column is for Mandatory or Optional. X=Mandatory and O=Optional.

My total Mandatory weight is at 12.46lbs and total Mandatory + Optional is 15.06 (pack not included because I haven't purchased one yet).

What can I do here to drop my weight further? Which things are absolutely dumb that I carry? I am new to this and have already cut my pack weight in half from last year.

Thank you

Anonymous
    Inactive

When solo you could easily switch to a smaller, lighter pot. Could probably knock off 4 ounces with a 550mL to 900mL capacity. My Toaks 900mL from LiteTrail without handles weighs 3.12 ounces in a cuben stuff sack. You could also switch to an alcohol or esbit setup if you're comfortable with that.

Definitely leave behind those optional items. Maybe replace the chair with a sit pad if you would like the extra cushion on breaks and in camp.