Topic

Women’s Backpacks

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Women’s Backpacks

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Petra S
    Spectator

@sweetpea36

Locale: Ohio

Hi! I am new to backpacking and am looking for advice. My next purchase is a backpack. On my first hike in years, I rented a Kelty external frame from my son's Boy Scout troop for $3. While it was comfortable, the leader griefed me the whole time.

Now, I am looking for a pack that I can adjust to different situations. I want to do everything from overnights to a couple of weeks. Since I am only buying one pack, I am looking for something versatile. Please advise me on everything from size to what extras would be good to have on a pack.

Thanks!

Dena Kelley
    BPL Member

@eagleriverdee

Locale: Eagle River, Alaska

My advice is don't get too hung up on the gender specific packs. They do have some advantages- somewhat narrower on the shoulder straps where they connect to the bag, the shoulder straps sometimes come in an S shape to go around the outside of the breasts which is nicer for large busted women, often the sternum strap is lower to accommodate the breasts, and the hip belt is made somewhat differently to accommodate wider hips and usually is somewhat cushier.