Topic

Sleeping pads

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Sleeping pads

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Tyler Anselmo

@anselmot

Locale: Smoky Mountains

I'm transitioning over to quilt use this backpacking season, and I sold my big heavy Insulated Air Core to drop a lot of weight off my pack. I've never used a quilt before, so i'm not exactly sure what the best practices are when it comes to sleeping pads. I also will be switching over to a frameless backpack, since my base weight is pretty low, and doesn't warrant the use of a heaving pack. I normally end up sleeping in shelters( required in most places), but I do occasionally sleep in my tent. Due to a lack of funds, I don't have the money for winter gear, so most of my camping is between May- Late September around the Smoky Mountain area. I'm trying to decide which pad would be best for me, and then what size. I'm about 5'8" on my best day, and usually sleep on my stomach or back. I was thinking about the Thermarest prolite in either a small or x-small, what do you guys think, or should I look elsewhere?

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA

The Prolite series offers warm, comfy pads, period. Affordable too! If you go short, I recommend a sitpad of CCF for the feet.

I use a quilt and usually a frameless pack as well and I prefer a NeoAir – original, Xlite, or XTherm are all GREAT. REI's upcoming 20% off sale and Gear Swap on this site are good ways to find good deals. Geartrade.com is good too.

dirtbag
    BPL Member

@dirtbaghiker