Topic

Durability of OPsacks?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Durability of OPsacks?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Matthew Stenger
    BPL Member

@matthewstenger

Locale: the beautiful northwest

I have never used OPsacks before but I am thinking I should on the A.T.

I am wondering how many nights I can expect a OPsack to last for?

Should I plan on replacing them weekly or just a few times over the course of the trail?

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies

My use of them has been pretty scattered so it's hard to give a number, but they seem to last on average for 20-30 days before something goes wrong. Usually something fails around the closure, but once in a while I'll get a cut in one. I've been through about 5 over the past couple years.

I'm sure this is highly care dependant. They could last much longer or much shorter.

Anonymous
    Inactive

"I have never used OPsacks before but I am thinking I should on the A.T."

Before you commit to using the expensive OPsacks, you might want to investigate the Nylobarrier sacks sold by Lite Trails. They are made entirely of the odorproof material that is laminated to a thicker non odorproof layer in OPsacks. They are much lighter, .4 oz, for a larger storage capacity, cheaper, quite durable, and a whole lot easier to use. I can use them for several trips if I don't outright abuse them. Simply turn them inside out, wash them, hang 'em up to dry, and they're ready for the next trip. It is wise, however, as with an OPsack, to check for leaks by sealing them up and applying pressure from time to time. They're light enough that I usually carry a spare or two in the field. Love 'em.

Buck Nelson
    BPL Member

@colter

Locale: Alaska

Needless to say I was not impressed.

Derek M.
    BPL Member

@dmusashe