Topic

Bivy advice from you, the BPL experts

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Bivy advice from you, the BPL experts

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    J Dos
    BPL Member

@damager

Locale: Redwoods of Santa Cruz Mts

I've previously started a bivy thread and received tons of great info. I ended up buying a Borah Gear side-zip long length, regular girth, with M90 upper and silnylon bottom. Long story short, I ended up selling it before using it due to an injury and new job.

I borrowed a friend's last year and enjoyed the closer-to-nature experience and not setting up a shelter/tarp in nice weather. However, I am a noob in regards to bivys, so I'm seeking some additional advice.

I've looked at offerings from Zpacks, Katabatic Gear, MLD, and Borah Gear again. My one reservation regarding the Borah Bivy is the lack of bathtub floor. The other 3 bivys seem to offer more protection from the elements. Also, I want to keep the bivy sub 8 ounces. MLD Superlight bivy appeals the most right now.

This brings me to my last point: I'm also looking for a new tarp, sil or cuben, to pair with the bivy.

I'm 6'1"ish, 185 pounds and where I live in the Bay Area, CA, a 4-season hiker, though I would be regarded as a 3-season hiker most everywhere else. This system should not see snow except for an emergency situation. I'm looking for a modular system I can use for the majority of my trips.
    I mostly hike solo and my partners would have their own shelter.

Other relevant gear details:
    1)Montbell UL SS #3 Long sleeping bag
    2)NeoAir Original sleeping pad
    3)Polycryo GS from MLD

All advice is welcome. I apologize for the length of this introductory post, but more info seems to lead to better responses.

Rick Sutton
    BPL Member

@rickcsutton

Locale: Midwest