Topic

First time hiker going straight for an AT thru hike.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists First time hiker going straight for an AT thru hike.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Devin Harvey

@devinharvey

Like the title says this is my first time doing any hiking in a very long time. Ive been putting together a list of gear that ill be getting and would like somebody thats done this before to look it over. I plane to leave Springer in early March 2014. Obviously the lighter the better but that comes at a cost. Ive tried to do a good compromise between cost and weight. I have several things I think may need changing but Ill throw my list on hear and just go from there. Thanks in advance for all the help!

Packing and Camping
    Backpack-ZPack Arc Blast 52L-18.07oz-341.95
    Shelter-ZPack Hexamid Solo Tent-14.3oz-$430.00
    Stakes-ZPack 6.5" Orange Tough Titanium (10) 2.33oz-$20.00
    Sleeping Bag-Zpack 20 Degree 900 Fill Power-19.8oz-$420
    Sleeping Pad-therm-A-Rest NeoAir X Therm-15oz-$150.00

Packed Cloths
    Base Layer Top-Terramar Thermasilk Crew-3.4oz-$24.00
    Base Layer Bottom-Terramar Thermasilf Pants-3.4oz-$30.00
    Torso Insulation-Mont-bell U.L. Down Vest-5.1oz-$120.00
    Rain Jacket-ZPacks-5.5oz-$265.00
    Spare Socks-Smartwool PHD Running Lite-1.5oz- $20.00
    Warm Hat-Mountain Hardware Micro Dome-1.5oz-$18.00
    Gloves-Mountain Hardware Powerstretch-2.0oz-$30.00
    Midlevel-Smartwool Midleweight Crew-9.0oz-$95.00
    Midlevel-Smartwool Lightweght Pants-8.0oz-$85.00
    Midlevel-Mont-bell Plasma 1000 Down Jacket-4.8oz-$269.00

Cooking
    Cook Stove-Classic Ti-Tri With Inferno-12.17oz-$119.95
    Cook Pot-Evernew Ultra Light 1.3L-$69.95
    Pot Cozy-Anitgravity Gear-1.5oz-$12.00
    Mug-Evernew TI MUG 400FD-1.7oz-$22.00
    Spoon ULV Titanium Spork-.38oz-$8.84