Topic

New pack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) New pack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Ben Dixon

@bendixon84

Locale: Earth

Hi there! I'm a relatively newcomer to the BPL world and am finding this site a fantastic source of advice.

I've been lurking on the forums for a while but this is my first post, and I was wondering I'd you guys had any thoughts/advice on backpack choice.
    Specifically the HMG porter and the mystery ranch trance xxx. The pack will primarily be used for hiking and backpacking trips of upto and around 7 days. However, I'm considering purchasing a packraft in the new year and would be using the pack for this too. I have some experience with mystery ranch's adjustable yoke system and find it rather useful. I do like the semi dry bag nature of the porter though.
    I'm in the uk so I can see either of these packs before I buy, sadly. So any help/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Ben Dixon

Max Dilthey
    Spectator

@mdilthey

Locale: MaxTheCyclist.com

These packs are totally different animals. the HMG porter is a lot lighter and the cuben is going to be pretty robust, but adjustability (and likely comfort) will be lower. if yur load is light, the decrease in padding might not affect you at all.

The Trance XXX is a monster; it'll comfortably carry a lot more weight because the hipbelt is a beast. It's also more adjustable for comfort. I think the cordura used on a lot of the Trance is a little more durable than the lightweight HMG, but YMMV; some people use cuben packs for years and years.

I would decide how low your baseweight is WITH the packraft, and then choose. I am always in the camp of picking the more capable pack, because you never know when you'll have to carry extra food-water and go way over your UL weight.

Dale Wambaugh
    BPL Member