Topic

Longest ultraight BP w/o replenishing?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Longest ultraight BP w/o replenishing?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 39 total)
  • Author
    Miquel Casas
    Spectator

@mcbbcn-2

Hi,

I'm fairly new to ultralight backpacking, and I've been trying to look for the following information with not too much luck.

What is the longest -AKA how many days- can you go with no replenishment before you cross over the line of ultralight backpacking? For instance, is it possible to comfortably hike for 10 days with everything you need -water & food- on your backpack and still call it ultralight? I'm wondering at what point food and water is so heavy that it can't be called ultralight anymore, or can it?

If you have any examples that includes gear list with food and water, it'll be helpful.

Thanks for your help,

Miquel Casas
    Portland, OR

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

The ultralight distinction is about base weight, not overall weight.

To answer your question though, once you get over 30 pounds the weight will start to slow you down.

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

In my mind, the crossover comes when your UL pack doesn't carry the base weight + food + fuel comfortably. That can be avoided with a more substantial pack, but then your base weight is up.

A few scenarios:

3 days = 5 pounds food + 8 ounces fuel on top of a 8-pound base weight and that all works.

10 days = 15 pounds food, 1-2 pounds fuel, + 8 pounds base weight = 25 pounds which is getting to the limit of many packs (that allow you to have an 8-pound base weight. So beyond that, you probably have a pack that weighs 2-3 pounds instead of one that weighs one pound. But I'd still call that UL.