Topic

THE PCT… FOR ME?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique THE PCT… FOR ME?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Benjamin Ingalls

@bingalls

I have this upcoming summer of 2014 completely off. I have been backpacking for the past 4 years but the longest trip I have been on has been 7 days. There is part of me that wants to do the Pacific Crest Trail. I know there is probably alot of training involved and a lot of outdoor knowledge that I would need to acquire. But I figure if I have the time to do it right now in my life, then why not? Any thoughts?

Valerie E
    Spectator

@wildtowner

Locale: Grand Canyon State

Why not — provided you're truly motivated and committed to the preparation and training. I really believe commitment is the key here, as there will be many occasions where the going will be tough, and only your determination will keep you in the game.

Provided you have the dedication, I don't think you should let a lack of thru-hiking experience stop you. There are plenty of places to get information on the necessary skills, and you have lots of time to practice your technique before April…You know what they say: a thru-hike is just a series of shorter backpacks; one after the other…

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

It will cost you some time, which you are apparently prepared to spend. It is also going to cost you some money.

–B.G.–

Bob Bankhead
    BPL Member

@wandering_bob

Locale: Oregon, USA

"I have this upcoming summer of 2014 completely off." Lucky you! You need to specify the date range encompassed by that in order for readers to give you informed comments.