Topic

Video tips for the outdoors?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Video tips for the outdoors?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Doug Smith
    BPL Member

@jedi5150

Locale: Central CA

Hello all, I recently started playing with the video feature of my Canon 5DII. I figured, hey, if they used the camera to film part of Ironman 3, surely I can take a decent video. Hahaha…or maybe not.

For anyone who has taken videos with a DSLR while backpacking, how do you deal with wind noise? Is there a decent way to cancel it out but still be able to hear talking? Or do you leave the wind-noise in as part of the whole "great outdoors" ambiance.

Second would be focusing…do you use manual or AF, and on a related note, what f-stops or ISO would you recommend? Any tips would be great. I'm sure there are tons of places on the internet for checking out how to make good videos, but I'd also like to hear advice specifically for what works well for backpacking.

Thanks in advance.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

First of all, if you try to use a built-in microphone, you are doomed. The wind noise is always a problem. I go by one of two methods. One method is to use a shotgun microphone mounted high on the hot shoe. Then over the microphone you need to use a dead cat wind muffler. I found the commercial dead cats to be too big and heavy for backpacking, so I made my own. It is small but still gets the job done. The trick is in finding the right kind of super-fuzzy fabric to use.