Topic

More down jacket talk

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) More down jacket talk

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Steve Zavoda
    BPL Member

@anotherdyemention

Locale: NE Ohio

Mine narrowed my search down to three jackets.
    The golite demaree hooded jacket 16 oz 800 fill down and 4 oz of fill
    The golite Selkirk 6 oz 800 fill down 70 g of fill
    And the montbell UL parka 9 oz 800 fill down 2.5 oz of fill

After reading, I kinda feel like the demaree would be overkill. I'm in NE Ohio and planning on backpacking down to 30 degrees. I have a 20 degree down back and will also be bringing a mid weight base layer for sleeping and use while in camp. I'll also already have in a LW base layer as well as a windshirt. And of course I'll have a rain shell, gloves, and a hat.
    From what I read in here, that should be more than enough warmth options for down to 30. I hate to carry an extra 9 oz (demaree) when I can get away with 6 or 9. I just don't have the firsthand knowledge about what would be acceptable. I car camp in the winter every year but not so concerned with being cold when my car is ten feet away.
    Thanks
    I may also consider the MB EX light but that's the most expensive. I'd rather keep it under 150.

Mike W
    BPL Member

@skopeo

Locale: British Columbia

If you fit a size XL, this is hard to beat.

http://www.campsaver.com/alpine-light-down-jacket-2012-men-s

Edit: fixed link

michael levi

@m-l

Locale: W-Never Eat Soggy (W)affles

I just bought a backcountry.com anorak. 7.5 oz in medium and roughly 130 bucks. Used it on a cold night and am really liking forward to using it more.

Steve Zavoda
    BPL Member

@anotherdyemention

That still has 4 oz of fill and weighs more than twice what the Selkirk weighs. Just not sure if I need that much extra insulation